Register Now

Also, remember to make your
Hotel Reservation Here

Important Dates

Conference: May 7-11, 2012
Reg. Registration Ends: April 20, 2012
Late Registration: April 21 to May 11

Advances in Bistatic Radar


Date: May 7, 2011
Time: 1:00am - 5:00pm
Instructor: Hugh Griffiths

Tutorial Code: T-03


Bistatic radar has a long history, dating back to the earliest days of radar. It is presently the subject of expanded interest, and new systems are now being designed and evaluated, for applications including SAR and GMTI surveillance from UAVs, air defence and counter-stealth. Of particular interest is Passive Bistatic Radar, using broadcast, communications or radionavigation signals as the illumination sources.

This tutorial, by one of the editors of the recently-published book ‘Advances in Bistatic Radar’ will cover:

  1. Historical perspective

  2. Fundamentals of bistatic radar

  3. Passive Bistatic Radar

  4. Bistatic SAR

  5. Examples of systems and results

Instructor Biography

Hugh Griffiths was educated at Keble College, Oxford University, where he received the MA degree in Physics. He also received the PhD (1986) and DSc(Eng) (2000) degrees from the University of London. 

In 2009 he was appointed to the THALES / Royal Academy of Engineering Chair at University College London. From 2006–2008 he served as Principal of the Defence College of Management and Technology, Shrivenham. Prior to that, from 1982–2006 he was with University College London, serving as Head of the Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering from 2001–2006. He has published widely; recent books include Advances in Bistatic Radar (2007) and two chapters, on Oliver Heaviside and on John Ambrose Fleming, in History of Wireless (2006). 

He has received the IERE Lord Brabazon Premium Award and the IEE Mountbatten and Maxwell Premium Awards, and the IEEE Nathanson Award in 1996. He was Chairman of the IEEE AESS Radar Systems Panel from 2005-2008, and serves as Editor-in-Chief of IET Proceedings on Radar, Sonar and Navigation. He has been elected President of the IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society for 2012/2013. He has also served on the Defence Scientific Advisory Council for the UK Ministry of Defence. In 1997 he was elected to Fellowship of the Royal Academy of Engineering.